top of page

SACSA Judges Trophy


The Brits Flying Club hosted the annual Sport Aerobatic Club of South Africa on Saturday 5 August. Contestants started arriving from early in the morning to attend the briefing which was held in the clubhouse at 9:00.

The competition got underway with the pilots competing in Sportsman class taking to the air. Trevor Warner in his RV7managed top honours followed Jurie Steyn in a Zlin 50 came a close second only two percent behind him. Jonty Esser, Charles Urban, Kayle Woole and Gary Whitecross came thrird, forth, fifth and sixth respectively. Gary Whitecross is the only competitor taking part in a glider.

Next up was the more advanced intermadiate catagory Andrew Fletcher in his Zlin 50, Jason Beamish manged to keep the rest of the field at bay taking second Place. Third, fourth and fifth belonged to Andrew Blackwood-Murry, Conrad Botha and Steve Brown.

Eugene du Preez and Pierre du Plooy were the only contestants in Advanced class Eugene manged to stay ahead of Pierre with just 5 percent Eugene was flying an Extra 300 and Pierre in a Giles 202.

The Unlimited category was a very important affair as it was the last aerobatic competition before the guys go off to Malelane to compete in the world championships. Nigel Hopkins won the competition with a very respectable 82% in his Extra 330sc, followed by Barrie Eeles alson in an Extra 330sc. Neville Ferreira came in a close second.

Good luck to all the guys going to the World Championships, fly the South African flag high.


bottom of page